Home   Bury St Edmunds   News   Article

Chloe Hunter and Andy Abbott named top citizens at 2018 St Edmund's Day Awards

More news, no ads


Inspirational people who strive to improve the lives of others living and working in Bury St Edmunds have been recognised at a special awards ceremony.

The annual St Edmund’s Day Awards, run by Bury St Edmunds Town Council, were held at the council offices on Angel Hill on Monday.

The evening saw Andy Abbott named citizen of the year for his work as chairman of trustees of Southgate Community Centre, governor of the local primary school and for helping to run the school football team.

The St Edmunds Day Award winners and nominees with Bury St Edmunds town councillors. (5507324)
The St Edmunds Day Award winners and nominees with Bury St Edmunds town councillors. (5507324)

Other nominations included Christina Birt, Elaine Channen, Margaret Charlesworth, Patrick Church, Vivien Gainsborough Foot, Stephen Moody, Libby Ranzetta, Samantha Reid and Doreen Whomes.

The Young Citizen of the Year Award was given to 16-year-old Chloe Hunter, who was nominated for supporting her 13-year-old brother who has spastic cerebral palsy while also teaching chemistry to Year 8 pupils at her school, being a youth leader at her church, volunteering at a care home and studying five A-levels.

“It feels like someone has finally recognised all that I do,” said the Thurston Sixth student.

The Jetts Netball Club was also nominated for the award.

Cllr Andrew Speed, chairman of the town council, said: “Those who were honoured and awarded this evening represent just a few of so many who do so much around the town.

“The town council is delighted to recognise their activities and to continue to support all those volunteer groups who make Bury such a special place to live.”

The allotment awards also saw Maria Pinhal win best overall allotment and Zohra Poultney named best newcomer.