Home   Newmarket   News   Article

Change UK and the Brexit Party join established parties on ballot for eastern region’s EU elections

The European election will be held on May 23 (10380538)
The European election will be held on May 23 (10380538)

Change UK and the Brexit Party are entering a full roster of seven candidates for next week’s European elections in ‘eastern region’.

The newly-formed parties join Labour, Lib Dem, Conservative, UKIP, Green, English Democrat and independent parties on the ballot paper for the vote on Thursday, May 23.

West Suffolk Council has made arrangements following the government’s announcement for the election to go ahead, despite the UK being set to leave the European Union.

There are seven seats available, with the Conservatives winning three, UKIP winning three and Labour winning one in 2014.

Patrick O'Flynn, who won a seat for UKIP in 2014, has since left to represent the Social Democratic Party. Fellow former UKIP MEP Tim Aker now represents the Brexit Party, having also represented Thurrock Independents.

The 'eastern' region for European elections was formed in 1999. Here is how many seats parties have won in elections since then.

Each party can name up to seven candidates they want to see elected. Electors cast a single vote for their party of choice.

Candidates are allocated seats according to the proportion of the votes cast. This means if a party secures almost a complete share of the vote, all seven candidates could be elected.

But if, as expected, the vote is split, parties will give seats to candidates in the order they appear on the ballot paper.

Polling stations in West Suffolk will be open from 7am to 10pm and you can find your allocated station on your polling card.

Green Party

Catherine Rowett

Rupert Read

Martin Schmierer

Fiona Radic

Paul Jeater

Pallavi Devulapalli

Jeremy Caddick

Conservative Party

Geoffrey Charles Van Orden

John Christopher Flack

Joe Rich

Thomas McLaren

Joel Charles

Wazz Mughal

Thomas Smith


Alex Mayer

Chris Vince

Sharon Taylor

Alvin Shum

Anna Smith

Adam Scott

Javeria Hussain

Liberal Democrat

Barbara Ann Gibson

Lucy Kathleen Nethsingha

Fionna Tod

Stephen Robinson

Sandy Walkington

Marie Goldman

Jules Ewart

The Brexit Party

Richard Tice

Michael Heaver

June Mummery

Paul Hearn

Priscilla Huby

Sean Lever

Edmund Fordham

Change UK

Emma Taylor

Neil Carmichael

Bhavna Joshi

Michelle de Vries

Amanda Gummer

Thomas Graham

Roger Casale


Attila Csordas


Stuart Agnew

Paul Oakley

Elizabeth Jones

William Ashpole

Alan Graves

John Wallace

John Whitby

English Democrats

Robin Tilbrook

Charles Vickers

Bridget Vickers

Paul Wiffen