Home   Newmarket   Sport   Article

Fen Tigers too good for Devils

It was business as usual in the West Suffolk sunshine on Sunday as the Mildenhall Fen Tigers rattled up another big total to take control of their National Trophy group.

TOP FORM: Danny Ayres (red) takes control against Plymouth. Picture: Derek Leader (2236488)
TOP FORM: Danny Ayres (red) takes control against Plymouth. Picture: Derek Leader (2236488)

The visiting Plymouth Devils struggled to gain any kind of foothold in the meeting with two shared heats and one heat winner being the only positives in their afternoon, which ended in a 64-25 triumph for the hosts.

Josh Bailey set the meeting off in fine style with the fastest time of the season at Mildenhall, only 1.2 seconds outside the track record, and with his team-mates all on their game from the off.

Danny Halsey had a fine return with paid ten from his four rides, while acting captain Ryan Kinsley followed his match-winning 15-point performance at Kent with another – this time a paid maximum.

He was nearly joined in the maximum stakes by the excellent Danny Ayres, who only dropped a point to Plymouth's Adam Roynon in heat 13, with the lively reserve pairing of Drew Kemp and Matt Marson paying for 23 points between them.

This victory took the Fen Tigers to 20 points in their National Trophy campaign from their six matches so far and a points different of plus 142.

A delighted Kevin Jolly said: “Everybody is contributing well and driving each other forward, apart from Josh’s exclusion we never recorded a last place today and overwhelmed Plymouth much as we did at their place.

"Giving Ryan the captaincy while Jordan (Jenkins) is out seems to have spurred him on to even better things and his last two meetings have shown everyone why we rate the boy so highly."


Fen Tigers 64

Ryan Kinsley 14+1 (5 rides), Danny Ayres 14 (5), Drew Kemp 12 (6), Danny Halsey 9+1 (4), Matt Marson 8+3 (5), Josh Bailey 7+2 (5) and Sam Bebee R/R

Plymouth Devils 25

Adam Roynon 9 (5 rides), Henry Atkins 7+1 (6), Ryan Terry Daley 3 (5), Macauley Leek 3 (6), Anders Rowe 2 (4), Richard Andrews 1 (5)and Bradley Andrews R/R