Home   Newmarket   Sport   Article

Fulton McIntosh ‘gobsmacked’ at coach of the year nomination in CPSA awards

More news, no ads


Fulton McIntosh says he was ‘gobsmacked’ to find out he had been nominated again for coach of the year at the Clay Pigeon Shooting Association (CPSA) annual awards, writes Alex Moss.

The 63-year-old, who coaches at Eriswell Lodge, finished runner-up to Simon Arbuckle, in the 2019 awards, and has made the final three for a second year running.

McIntosh, from Worlington, is joined by William Stonebridge and Lee Wilcoxson in the final three, with the winner to be revealed at annual awards dinner at The Belfry Hotel in Sutton Coldfield on February 1 next year.

McIntosh (5852801)
McIntosh (5852801)

“I was gobsmacked when I found out I was up for the award again,” McIntosh admitted.

“It’s an honour and shows I must be doing something right!

“There’s some top quality people that have been nominated. I remember going to The Belfrey last time and seeing all the people who had been nominated for the different awards.

“They were all at the top of their field in shooting, and some of them didn’t even win, which shows you how tough it is to win.”

The CPSA’s annual event features six different awards, with the clay shooter of the year, club/ground of the year, emerging shooter of the year, young shot of the year and disabled shooter of the year prizes also handed out on the night.

The coach of the year award, which is open to CPSA-qualified coaches, recognises the contribution to developing shooters to help them make progress and achieve great success.

“Instilling confidence is, and always will be, my priority as a coach,” McIntosh said.

“There is no better feeling than when you take someone who has never shot before, or when the more experienced shot who has lost form, pick up on points that they had never realised were contributing factors to their success/failure.

“They all just need to be reassured that everything will be fine.”

Voting for the 2020 CPSA annual awards opened on Wednesday this week. To vote go to www.cpsa.co.uk