Home   Sudbury   Sport   Article

End-of-year awards recognise success

PRIZE GIVING: Award winners line up for cameras.
PRIZE GIVING: Award winners line up for cameras.

Sudbury Storms swimmers gathered at Long Melford Village Hall on Sunday afternoon for the annual awards presentation.

After the presentation of trophies for the winners of the Club Champion- ships, held in July, the special awards were handed out under the following categories:

Club Championship points awards — similar to the Bagcat awards for times swum in each of the events at Club Championships. The top scoring swim in each of four groups (100m, Form 200m, individual medley (IM) IM and distance) are added together to give a final points total. Winners were: 12-13 years: Abby Moye 1091 points, Charlie Harman 743 pts; 14-15 yrs: Olivia Sherred 1699 pts, Harry Moye 1278 pts; 16 yrs: Rebecca Robertson 785 pts, Kalum Brooker 748 pts; 17-24 yrs: Ella Rides 783 pts, Chris Greenhalgh 2165 pts; 25+ yrs: Sarah Clarke 783 pts, Stuart Beal-Collins 628 pts.

Competitive start awards: Charlie Boldock, Eleni Brinkley, Gracie Brinkley, George Butler, Zellah Chambers, Zara Frost, Millie Gee, Harry Gregory, Abigail Harris, Amber Mabbutt, Bryn Roberts, James Rowley.

Top male county swimmer of the year: Chris Greenhalgh.

Top female county swimmer of the year: Olivia Sherred.

Most-improved male swimmer at the Club Championships: Sam Roberts.

Most-improved female swimmers at Club Championships: Abby Moye.

Endeavour awards — given to the male and female swimmer who has shown commitment to the club in training and effort at competition but does not always win any medals: Connor Hume, Molly Roberts.

Overall male swimmer of the year: Chris Greenhalgh.

Overall female swimmer of the year: Olivia Sherred.

Overall masters swimmer of the year: Stuart McLellan.

Swimmer of the year awards for age groups:Under-10: Jessica Deacon, James Rowley; 11-12 yrs: Sophie Murray, runners-up: Katie Chambers, Sam Roberts; 13-14 yrs: Georgie Hodgson, Harry Moye; 15-16 yrs; Olivia Sherred, Harry Harman; open: Redgi Keeble-Bradford, Chris Greenhalgh; masters: Sharon McLellan, Stuart McLellan.

n There was a special award for nine-year-old Bryn Roberts, designated number one supporter at the Long Distance Club Championships.

Volunteer of the year: Ann Alexander. Other volunteer awards: Karen Chambers, Joe Hodgson, Sam and Martin Robertson, Abby and Clive Evans, Stuart Beal-Collins.

n Finally, captains were appointed for the forthcoming year: boys captain: Charlie Harman; girls captain: Gemma Rides; club captain: Chris Greenhalgh.